When building a BI dashboard, it’s important to have the freedom to make changes without the fear of breaking something or losing your progress. That’s where Version History and Draft Mode come in. These two features are designed to make editing safer, easier, and more collaborative.
Together, these features make it easy to experiment, undo mistakes, and keep dashboards accurate and up to date.
To view a BI dashboard’s version history, please follow the steps below:
Open your dashboard in View mode.
Click on the 3-dots icon at the top right of the page.
Select Version History from the drop-down menu.
Another option to access the Version History:
Open your dashboard in View mode.
Click on the Published/Draft chip.
Select Version History from the drop-down menu.
By clicking on the pencil icon of each version, you can name important versions to make them easier to find later.
If you clear a name, it will revert to showing the original timestamp.
Clicking Edit Dashboard automatically opens the active Draft.
Use Save Draft anytime to keep changes private.
It will not affect the live dashboard.
Click Publish when you're ready to make the draft the new live version.
Use the Published/Draft chip dropdown to:
Open the Published version in a read-only tab.
Switch back to the Draft view.
In Version History, find and click the version you want to view.
This opens it in preview mode.
Depending on the version type, you’ll see one or both of these buttons:
Restore as Draft - available for all versions
Publish - available for Draft versions
Clicking Restore as Draft opens a new draft tab in edit mode, allowing you to review and make changes.
When you're ready, click Publish to make it the live version.
A new entry will be added to the Version History automatically.